Graphic Design Capstone Ideas

fuseproject: Blog.

One of my main interests is sustainable and reusable packaging. Fuseproject is the studio that developed the clever little bag, a shoe bag instead of a box for Puma. It uses 65% less material. For my capstone next year, I want to focus on reusable packaging, and this is what actually sparked my interest. I actually bought a pair of Pumas that came in this box and still have and use the bag.

Clever Little Bag by Fuseproject

Clever Little Bag by Fuseproject

I really enjoy packaging and the idea that its life does not end when the consumer throws it out. Packaging can have a much longer life, and I’d rather that it not be in a landfill, but in a home providing utility. I have just started brainstorming about ideas for my capstone project, but I feel like this is the direction I am heading in. I want to come up with a package that is useful after the consumer buys the product, and thus not discarded. I ordered the book Cradle to Cradle By William McDonough & Michael Braungart which was recommended to me by my design professor, it’s on my summer reading list. If anyone else has any ideas or sources about this topic, it would be great to get some other opinions!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Graphic Design Capstone Ideas

  1. michaelpinto says:

    This is one of the coolest ideas and designs I’ve seen. Talk about disrupting a norm. End the box move to the bag. Great idea. I look forward to seeing more.

Leave a Reply

